New to forum Intro

General discussion relating to club happenings and items related to Merkurs in general such as "Merkur sightings". If you just signed on, please feel to start a new thread and introduce yourself here. Posts specifically regarding either the XR4Ti or Scorpio should go in those specific forums. Feel free to make suggestions on improving this forum here as well.
Merkur Club web site
Ford Guy

New to forum Intro

Post by Ford Guy »

Hello all,
As the subject line says, I am new to the Merkur Forum and providing this intro. I am a retired automotive engineer and have owned my Rosso Red 1988 XR4Ti (manual trans, Raven black leather interior, sunroof) since 1989. It now has over 300,000 miles on it. No major mods. When the original muffler went, I had a stainless steel cat back exhaust system (with a stainless steel Borla muffler) installed that is still on the car today. Engine has never been apart. Water pump was replaced some time after 144k miles. Otherwise just usual maintenance items: oil, filters, plugs, wires, distributor cap, etc. Oh, and I replaced the rear differential...twice... Seems the diff is only good for 100k miles or so? Replaced the clutch but only because I had to take it out to replace the pilot bearing that had seized to the end of the input shaft. Somewhere around 240k miles?
1988 XR4Ti, 5spd, Rosso Red, Raven Black leather, sunroof
MarkM
Level 7
Level 7

Re: New to forum Intro

Post by MarkM »

Welcome to the forum. At this point, there are a number of high-mileage Merkurs out there, but yours is still going to be near the top, I think.
Mark
andyofcolumbusmerkur
Level 7
Level 7

Post by andyofcolumbusmerkur »

You never had to do front wheel bearings on it?
The best way to keep your Kia from being stolen is to not have a Kia.
Ed Lijewski
Level 8

Post by Ed Lijewski »

andyofcolumbusmerkur wrote: Tue Apr 19, 2022 11:16 am You never had to do front wheel bearings on it?