Autocross - driving tips please

Discussion topics related exclusively to our annual gathering in Carlisle PA on June 3-5, 2005.
Merkur Club web site
FURIOUSS

Autocross - driving tips please

Post by FURIOUSS »

Hi, I'm brand new to autocrossing and would like to know if anyone has some driving tips.
I've only been to 3 events.
I'm quite happy with my XR, so I'd like to improve the driver.

I just got the results of my last event (It started to rain so I left.)
I came in number 20 of 29. I was very pleased not to come in dead last.
I beat a new Mini S turbo, BMW M-Coupe, A hot Civic, and a handfill of BMWs (The numbering of which escapes me.)
Beating the M-Coupe makes me quite aware that the driver is more important than the car.

Thanks, Im Furiouss
85 XR RACER, 88 XR MODIFIED.
'05 Mazdaspeed Miata,'92 Daytona IROC R/T, '81 Delorean,'80 TR-8, A 2nd TR-8, TR-7, '75 Bricklin, '67 Fairlane HT, '63 Avanti, '27 Model T, (and 5 other XR4s)
My other car is a Tow Vehicle.
mhamilton
Level 6
Level 6

Post by mhamilton »

Improvements for the car...racing seat to keep you from fighting to stay planted. Stiffer suspension. Stabilizer bars.

There is so many things to improve the car. The XR can compete with less power and more agility.

Big thing to improve the driver...more seat time in the car.
Last edited by mhamilton on Wed Jun 08, 2005 9:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Head for the Hills, the Town of Lompach is Under Water!"
mhamilton
Level 6
Level 6

Post by mhamilton »

Last year I competed in a wore-out 96 Sentra base 1.6L 5 speed. It had a homemade open air intake and stabilzer bars. This car was an everyday driver. One race event, I placed second overall. I think some underestimated the car (plus it was a 4 door).

My XR was not as fun as the Sentra. I think I wanted to trash the Nissan and not the XR. Must have worked, the 96 is no longer mine. I don't want to hurt the XR, nobody cries when a Nissan breaks.
"Head for the Hills, the Town of Lompach is Under Water!"